Child Care Certification

Services Provided

Wisconsin State law (s. 48.651) requires counties/tribes to certify providers who receive public funding but are exempt from the licensing law. The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families maintains rules establishing standards for the certification of child care providers and contracts certification functions to local counties and tribes. The Intake and Assessment Unit of Douglas County certifies family child care providers.

Benefits of Child Care Certification


  • Provider is able to care for Wisconsin Shares subsidized children 
  • Provider may participate in the Child and Adult Care Food Program 
  • Provider may get parent referrals from Child Care Resource and Referral Agency

There are several requirements to attain child care certification including but not limited to the following:  

  • Be 18 years of age with a high school diploma or GED
  • Pay a $30.00 non-refundable application fee
  • Renters need landlord's permission to provide child care on his/her property
  • Complete all required application materials
  • All providers, employees, volunteers, and household members over age 12 are subject to criminal background checks one time per year at a cost of $10.00 per background check
  • The provider and household members over age 18 are required to be fingerprinted at a cost of $40.00 per person 
  • All individuals wishing to be certified to provide care for children must complete Shaken Baby Syndrome training and Sudden Infant Death Syndrome training prior to certification 
  • Two reference checks are required 
  • Site inspection required to verify all child care certification standards are met 
  • TB test required prior to certification 
  • Well water test required if applicant does not have a municipal water supply
  • Verification of current rabies vaccine for cats and dogs 

If you are interested in becoming certified to provide child care, please contact the Child Care Certifier at 715-395-1304 for application materials.